Swallows And Amazons

By Arthur Ransome

This charming book is a marvellous blending of real life and imagination. Set in the 1930s, Swallows and Amazons introduces us to the Walker family, their camp on Wild Cat Island, their boat ‘Swallow’ and two intrepid Amazons Nancy and Peggy. Carefree adventures that, sadly, would be ‘out of bounds’ for children today.
~ Her Majesty Queen Camilla

Share the book

Publish Date: 1930

Children’s book.

The book is the first of twelve instalments which make up the Swallows and Amazons series. It narrates the adventures of the Walker children, which take place during the summer holidays on Wild Cat Island and consist of sailing, camping, exploring, swimming, fishing, and going to war against two Amazon pirates.