Wolf Hall

By Hilary Mantel

More about the Author

Share the book

Publish Date: 2009 Awards: 2009 Man Booker Prize

Hilary Mantel’s acclaimed masterpiece is the first instalment in the Wolf Hall trilogy, tracing the rise of Thomas Cromwell under the cruel and capricious Henry VIII. A shrewd and ambitious self-made man, Cromwell emerges as a powerful force within the court, but even he is subject to the fickle wishes of a King who can offer favour as well as ruin. An impeccably researched and thoroughly immersive historical novel which established Hilary Mantel as one of the greatest British writers of the century.

Other books by Hilary Mantel

    The Mirror & The Light

    By Hilary Mantel

    Publish Date: 2020 Awards: 2021 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction
    This novel is the third and final instalment of the Thomas Cromwell trilogy, after Wolf Hall (2009) and Bring Up the Bodies (2012). The plot covers the last four years of Cromwell, minister at the court of Henry VIII, from…