Maggie O’Farrell

Share this page

Maggie O’Farrell is a British-Irish bestselling and award-winning author. She has written several critically acclaimed novels, including The Distance Between Us (2009), The Hand That First Held Mine (2010), Instructions for a Heatwave (2013), This Must Be The Place (2016), and her latest Hamnet (2020). Her memoir, I am, I am, I am (2017), is a Sunday Times no. 1 bestseller.

Author recommends

    Wide Sargasso Sea

    By Jean Rhys

    Recommended by: Maggie O’Farrell
    Publish Date: 1966
    The novel tells the story of Antoinette Mason, the woman known as Bertha in Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre, from her childhood to her arranged marriage to Mr. Rochester, an English gentleman who will turn out to be abusive and cruel.…
  • The Sisters Brothers

    By Patrick deWitt

    Recommended by: Maggie O’Farrell
    Publish Date: 2011 Awards: 2011 Governor General’s Literary Awards; 2011 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
    An homage to the classic Western, The Sisters Brothers is the story of two notorious assassins, Eli and Charlies Sisters, chasing their victim, Hermann Kermit Warm. Throughout a long and violent journey, one of them will start questioning his life…