Gabriel García Márquez

Share this page

Gabriel García Márquez was a Colombian journalist and author of novels, short stories and screenplays regarded as one of the most significant writers of the last century. He is renowned for popularising magic realism, a genre which inserts magical elements in otherwise realistic situations. Some of his most celebrated titles include One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967), Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981), and Love in the Time of Cholera (1985). In 1982 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Other books by Gabriel García Márquez

    One Hundred Years Of Solitude

    By Gabriel García Márquez

    Recommended by: Amor Towles
    Publish Date: 1967
    An epic tale which spans a hundred years of tumult and unrest in Latin America, One Hundred Years of Solitude tells the story of the Buendía family, whose patriarch built the once flourishing city of Macondo, now dilapidated and in…


The Importance of Family – Gabriel García Márquez

Read more